Looking for Alaska by John Green

Bibliographic information: Looking for Alaska. John Green. Dutton Juvenile, 2005. $18.99. 160p. ISBN-13:  978-0525475064.
Summary: Miles, nicknamed Pudge, at the age of 16 has not friends and lead a very boring life, so he has decided that he wants to seek the “Great Perhaps” and signs up for boarding school. He soon meets his roommate Chip, known as the Colonel, and Chip’s friend Alaska Young, who is described as the most beautiful girl around. As a traditional welcoming prank, Pudge is thrown into the lake, but first he is duct taped, which is not customary. This leads Chip into believe there is more behind the prank than there should have been.
Reading level and interest level: RL: grade 9 and up  IL: 14 and up
Review: Wrote as a first person narrative by our protagonist Miles “Pudge” Halter. Green does a great job on creating a plot and characters that catch your attention and make it hard to put the book down. Readers will be able to relate to Green’s characters and their situations that speak truths to the young adult nature. I instantly found myself relating to Pudge’s character because he is funny, sarcastic and exudes an “I don’t really care” type of personality that I think is relative to many teens. Riddled with alcohol and cigarette use, this is a heartbreaking tale of love and loss that will stick with the reader well after they put it down. I recommend it to people who are struggling to understand their lives and the people around them.
Readers’ annotation: Miles is looking for the “Great Perhaps,” so he signs up for boarding school and meets, Alaska, a girl who changes his life.
Bibliotherapeutic usefulness: First, this book would be helpful to young adults who are struggling with self identities and are trying to make something of themselves. Green does a great job with describing Mile’s struggles to grow into something more than what he is. Second, this book could be a good source for somebody struggling with the death of their friend a how to cope with such a tragedy.
Issues present: This book has smoking, alcohol use, and explicit sex scenes that could offend somebody else and they may object to it. However, these are common occurrences among young adults and people need to understand that just because a young adult may read about book with such content does not mean that they are going to pick up on the habits. And more than likely they have already had to deal with these issue in their daily lives.
Booktalk ideas: Introduce Pudge, Colonel, and Alaska.
Pg 4. Starting with “That’s cool.” to the end of that paragraph – sums up Miles character well.
Genre or subject: Realistic fiction: love relationship, Bildungsromans
Readalikes: Other John Green books, Paper Town, Perks of Being a Wallflower, It’s Kind of a Funny Story, 13 Reasons Why.
Author’s website: http://johngreenbooks.com/; sparksflyup.com
Awards and lists: School Library Journal Best Book of the Year (2005), Booklist Editors’ Choice (2005), NYPL Best Book for the Teen Age, An ALA/YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Adult Readers (2006), Los Angeles Times Book Prize (2005) Printz Award (2006), ALA Teens’ Top Ten (2005), Michigan Library Association Thumbs Up! Award Nominee (2006), ALA’s Top Ten Best Books for Young Adults (2006), The Inky Awards for Silver Inky (2007), Abraham Lincoln Award Nominee (2009)
Links to reviews: School Library Journal: http://bookverdict.com/details.xqy?uri=Product-35885691.xml
Why I chose it: I wanted the chance to read John Green’s first novel. I always expect more from his novels than I actually get. 

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Death, self-harm

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s